Stadskanaal Tournament 8-10/11/2019

posted in: Internationals, News | 0

Over the weekend of 8th-10th November, Scotland Korfball sent a squad to the International SealteQ Korfball Tournament hosted by Stadskanaal ’74 in the Netherlands. The squad featured players with varying amounts of experience at this level and with limited preparation time this tournament was viewed as an excellent opportunity for squad growth and development under the watchful eye of coach Colin Martin and captain Rebecca Fitch (Bristol Thunder).

Arriving on Friday afternoon, the team competed strongly all weekend, winning all of their group games against Tus Wesseling (Germany), Nador (Morocco) progressing to the knockout stages before a tight one-goal loss to the hosts Stadskanaal’74 (Netherlands). The team recovered well, winning their final two games against Wales and Wesseling again to claim a well-deserved fifth place finish. The side showed real mental fortitude and built a strong bond in winning a series of close games, improving as the weekend progressed and showing significant skill in high-pressure situations.

On Sunday, the side played a full international friendly against rivals Wales, a replay of the group stages from the 2018 European Championships which Scotland won 12-11. Games between the two sides have always been close and this was no different, with Scotland behind at half-time.With 6 players in the squad making their international debut, Scotland defeated Wales 15-11 in a match highlighted by strong shooting performances from Daniel Pratt (5 goals) and Emma Lindsay (4).

Overall, the tournament was a huge success for the squad. We are always grateful to Atte Van Haastrecht and the team from Stadskanaal’74 for organising the tournament and inviting us to participate. We look forward to returning again next year and pushing for the title.

Congratulations are in order for the entire squad:

  • Rebecca Fitch (C) (Bristol Thunder)
  • Emma Lindsay (Glasgow)
  • Bianca Deladia (Glasgow)
  • Christie Smillie (Edinburgh City)
  • Heather Mackintosh (Edinburgh City)
  • Rocio Melus (Edinburgh Mavericks)
  • Daniel Pratt (Edinburgh City)
  • David Ewing (Edinburgh City)
  • Calum Lindsay (Glasgow)
  • George Rourke (Highbury)
  • Angust Davidson (Edinburgh Mavericks)
  • Alex Forrest (Manchester Warriors)
  • Drew Clayton (Strathclyde)